2005 Senior Presentation Night

The Senior Competition Presentation Night was held on Monday (22 August) at the West Belconnen Leagues Club. Approximately 160 people attended the night, which recognised the achievements of clubs and their players both on and off the field.

The highlight of the night was the announcement of the Les McIntyre Medal and 2CA Player of the Year winner – Brenton Lawrence from the Tuggeranong Bushrangers. Brenton not only received the Medal and the 2CA shield, was also a $1,000 menswear voucher generously donated by 2CA.

Finalist in this year’s Medal count were:

Joe Onorato (Gungahlin Bulls)
Phil Stonham (Queanbeyan Blues)
Corey Parker (Queanbeyan Blues)
Brenton Lawrence (Tuggeranong Bushrangers)
Richie Allan (West Belconnen Warriors)
Paul Callaway (West Belconnen Warriors)
Tim Donovan (West Belconnen Warriors)
Angus Sherlock (Woden Valley Rams)
Adam Danilczak (Yass Magpies)

(picture courtesy of Classic Action Photography)

Award winners on the night were:

Les McIntyre Medal and 2CA Player of the Year – Brenton Lawrence (Tuggeranong Bushrangers)

Rookie of the Year – Marc Herbert

Coach of the Year – Owen Gregory (Yass)

Outstanding Referee – Michael Laverty

Outstanding Administrator – Sally Hawke (Gungahlin Bulls)

Reserve Grade Best & Fairest – Geoff Mullin (Queanbeyan Blues)

George Tooke Shield Best & Fairest – Ray Kearney (Crookwell)

Under 18s Best & Fairest – Joint Winners – Andrew Edwards (Queanbeyan Blues) and Michael Hill (Yass)

Top Tryscorer (Canberra Raiders Cup) – James Buser (Yass)

Top Tryscorer (George Tooke Shield) – Jamie Cocks (Bungendore)

Leading Pointscorer (Canberra Raiders Cup) – Joe Onorato (Gungahlin Bulls)

Leading Pointscorer (George Tooke Shield) – Steve Kirby (University Scholars)