Canberra U23’s To Play At World Club Challenge

Ash Barnes has named his initial squad for the Canberra Region Under 23 side as they prepare to take on the Victorian Under 20s as a curtain raiser for the World Club Challenge.

“It’s a great opportunity playing at a fantastic stadium such as AAMI Park ahead of the World Club Challenge,” Barnes said. “I know a lot of these players won’t have had the exposure and facilities like this before. I think it’s going to be a great experience for them.”

With eleven players from last year’s successful Monaro side unable to be picked in 2018, Barnes hopes to use the game against Victoria to provide the best possible preparation for the 2018 Country Championships.

“We want to form some new combinations and have a look at some other players before we lead into the Monaro trial,” Barnes said.

The game at AAMI Park will kick-off at 5:40pm Friday 16th February before the match featuring the Leeds Rhinos and Melbourne Storm.

The Canberra side will then take on Group 16 on Saturday 17th March in what will be a trial match to pick the Monaro squad for the 2018 Country Championships.

This squad is subject to change ahead of the match against Group 16.

2018 Preliminary Canberra Region Representative Squad

Tevita Aroha-Tuinauvai (West Belconnen Warriors)
Connor Brebner (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs)
Nick Cornish (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs)
Kyle Danilszak (Yass Magpies)
Michael Geiger (Woden Valley Rams)
Tyson Greenwood (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs)
Derek Hay (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)
Ron Leapai (Woden Valley Rams)
Adam Lucas  (Woden Valley Rams)
Kye Madden (Gungahlin Bulls)
James Mafi (Queanbeyan Blues)
Cleve McGhie (Woden Valley Rams)
Jacob McGrath (Yass Magpies)
Ryan McQueen (West Belconnen Warriors)
Nela Moa (West Belconnen Warriors)
Nukurua Ngere (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)
Kaine Pagura (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)
Zac Patch (Queanbeyan Blues)
William Sila (Queanbeyan Blues)
Luke Skidmore (Gungahlin Bulls)
George Stewart (Queanbeyan Blues)
Ryley Thomas (West Belconnen Warriors)
Keb Vaetoe (Woden Valley Rams)
Timoci Vatabuli (Woden Valley Rams)
Harry Whatman (West Belconnen Warriors)