CRC Team of the Year – Bench

We’ve collected all the votes from the McIntyre Medal to form the 2018 Austbrokers Canberra Raiders Cup Team of the Year.

We’ll go through each position and if votes are tied, the player whose club finished higher on the ladder or went further in the finals series will be chosen for the position.


Jake Scholes (Gungahlin Bulls – 11 votes)

The young half was a shining light in a side that struggled at times throughout the season.

Switching between the halves and hooker, Scholes scored two tries for the season, including an important four pointer that gave the Bulls their most memorable win of the season.

Josh Ayers – (Queanbeyan Kangaroos – 9 votes)

Ayers was named as prop in the 2017 Team of the Year and the Queanbeyan Kangaroos veteran enjoyed an outstanding 2018 as well.

Having shed 23 kilograms, Ayers moved to the second row with devastating effect as he scored nine tries.

Atu Tupou – (Tuggeranong Bushrangers – 8 votes)

In a testament to Tupou’s importance to the Bushrangers, the two game he missed Tuggeranong were beaten and struggled to score points.

The skillful second rower was a handful for all sides with his powerful running game and ability to do the unpredictable. He scored six tries for the season but also managed plenty of try assists.

Nela Moa – (West Belconnen Warriors – 7 votes)

A switch from centres to the second row brought the best out of Moa as he was an ever-present figure for the Warriors in 2018. Remarkably, the switch to the second row also saw Moa score more tries than he had in previous Canberra Raiders Cup seasons.


Justin Giteau

Tuggeranong’s rapid rise wasn’t missed by Giteau’s fellow coaches as he was duly awarded the Don Furner Sr. Shield.

Under Giteau’s guidance, the Bushrangers claimed their first ever Minor Premiership and enjoyed their second ever Grand Final appearance.

Although, the Bushrangers went down 31-30 the manner in which they came back from 30-0 down showed the character and the influence that Giteau instilled in his side.

Austbrokers Canberra Raiders Cup – Team of the Year

1. Matt Gruber – Tuggeranong Bushrangers
2. Tevita Aroha Tuinauvai – West Belconnen Warriors
3. Junior Vatikani – Yass Magpies
4. Jake Wheeler – Queanbeyan Blues
5. Michael Brophy – Tuggeranong Bushrangers
6. Brent Crisp – Queanbeyan Kangaroos
7. Lincoln Withers – Woden Valley Rams
8. Ron Leapai – Woden Valley Rams
9. Josh Mitchell – Tuggeranong Bushrangers
10. Tom Warner (c) – Yass Magpies
11. Nukurua Ngere – Queanbeyan Kangaroos
12. Michael Gilmour – Woden Valley Rams
13. Jeff Morgan – Woden Valley Rams

14. Jake Scholes – Gungahlin Bulls
15. Josh Ayers – Queanbeyan Kangaroos
16. Atu Tupou – Tuggeranong Bushrangers
17. Nela Moa – West Belconnen Warriors

Coach: Justin Giteau – Tuggeranong Bushrangers