CRC Team of the Year – Props

We’ve collected all the votes from the McIntyre Medal to form the 2018 Austbrokers Canberra Raiders Cup Team of the Year.

We’ll go through each position and if votes are tied, the player whose club finished higher on the ladder or went further in the finals series will be chosen for the position.


Tom Warner (c) – (Yass Magpies – 19 votes)

The fact that Warner gained over triple the number of votes than the next best prop shows how good a season the Yass Magpies co-captain had.

Starting the season in the second row after having a knee reconstruction that ruled him out of 2017, Warner wasted little time in showing his qualities by scoring twice against the Queanbeyan Blues in the season opener.

The joint McIntyre Medalist moved into the front row due to injuries to devastating effect as he scored six tries in the final three matches to finish as the competition’s top scorer too.

Due to his fantastic season and leadership role for Yass, Warner is named captain in the Team of the Year.

Ron Leapai – (Woden Valley Rams – 6 votes)

The Rams prop had a year to remember as he played a crucial role as Woden claimed the 2018 Premiership.

He ran the ball with venom, was busy in defence and showed a handy habit to score when it mattered. Leapai scored in both the Major Semi Final and the Grand Final after not having scored for two months prior.


Aidan Woods – (Queanbeyan Blues – 5 votes)

The Queanbeyan Blues prop had a solid season in 2018 after he made the switch from the Queanbeyan Kangaroos.

Woods shone particularly in the opening match of the season where he provided plenty of impact and was duly named the Raiders Group Man of the Match.

Josh Hitchins – (Queanbeyan Kangaroos – 5 votes)

After playing a part in Cooma’s Group 16 Premiership winning season in 2017, Hitchins made the move to the Queanbeyan Kangaroos.

Generally coming off the bench, Hitchins provided plenty of impact with barnstorming runs and scored two tries for the season.

Austbrokers Canberra Raiders Cup – Team of the Year

1. Matt Gruber – Tuggeranong Bushrangers
2. Tevita Aroha Tuinauvai – West Belconnen Warriors
3. Junior Vatikani – Yass Magpies
4. Jake Wheeler – Queanbeyan Blues
5. Michael Brophy – Tuggeranong Bushrangers
6. Brent Crisp – Queanbeyan Kangaroos
7. Lincoln Withers – Woden Valley Rams
8. Ron Leapai – Woden Valley Rams
10. Tom Warner (c) – Yass Magpies