CRC Team of the Year – Second Row

We’ve collected all the votes from the McIntyre Medal to form the 2018 Austbrokers Canberra Raiders Cup Team of the Year.

We’ll go through each position and if votes are tied, the player whose club finished higher on the ladder or went further in the finals series will be chosen for the position.

Second Row

Michael Gilmour – (Woden Valley Rams – 19 votes)

The joint McIntyre Medalist was a certainty for the position after another stellar season for the Woden Valley Rams.

The second rower scored 14 tries in the year and finished the regular season as the second highest try scorer in the league.

Strong and quick, the 22 year-old caused opposition defences plenty of headaches and their attacks didn’t find much joy down his edge either.

Nukurua Ngere – (Queanbeyan Kangaroos – 11 votes)

Still only 20 years of age, Nukurua Ngere had an outstanding season for the Queanbeyan Kangaroos.

The second rower was part of a lethal right edge alongside Brent Crisp and Bryan Cronan, as Ngere scored and assisted plenty of tries.

Ngere scored a remarkable 13 tries for the season while Cronan on his outside scored 12.


Josh Ayers – (Queanbeyan Kangaroos – 9 votes)

Ayers was named as prop in the 2017 Team of the Year and the Queanbeyan Kangaroos veteran enjoyed an outstanding 2018 as well.

Having shed 23 kilograms, Ayers moved to the second row with devastating effect as he scored nine tries.

Atu Tupou – (Tuggeranong Bushrangers – 8 votes)

In a testament to Tupou’s importance to the Bushrangers, the two game he missed Tuggeranong were beaten and struggled to score points.

The skilful second rower was a handful for all sides with his powerful running game and ability to do the unpredictable. He scored six tries for the season but also managed plenty of try assists.

Nela Moa – (West Belconnen Warriors – 7 votes)

A switch from centres to the second row brought the best out of Moa as he was an ever-present figure for the Warriors in 2018. Remarkably, the switch to the second row also saw Moa score more tries than he had in previous Canberra Raiders Cup seasons.

Austbrokers Canberra Raiders Cup – Team of the Year

1. Matt Gruber – Tuggeranong Bushrangers
2. Tevita Aroha Tuinauvai – West Belconnen Warriors
3. Junior Vatikani – Yass Magpies
4. Jake Wheeler – Queanbeyan Blues
5. Michael Brophy – Tuggeranong Bushrangers
6. Brent Crisp – Queanbeyan Kangaroos
7. Lincoln Withers – Woden Valley Rams
8. Ron Leapai – Woden Valley Rams
9. Josh Mitchell – Tuggeranong Bushrangers
10. Tom Warner (c) – Yass Magpies
11. Nukurua Ngere – Queanbeyan Kangaroos
12. Michael Gilmour – Woden Valley Rams