CRRL Honour Katrina Fanning

Canberra Region Rugby League is proud to announce the renaming of the Open Women’s Tackle competition to the Katrina Fanning Shield in honour of the former Jillaroo.

Over the course of a 14 year playing career, Fanning played in the inaugural Jillaroos test in 1995 and was captain-coach of the Gungahlin Bulls as they won three premierships in the previous Canberra women’s competition.

In total, Fanning made 24 appearances for Australia and also captained NSW and Country NSW.

Since retiring from playing, Fanning has maintained a high involvement in rugby league, having served as president of Australian Women’s Rugby League as well as Canberra Women’s Rugby League. In addition to this, she also established the first ever indigenous women’s rugby league tournament.

In addition to this Katrina has heavily contributed to the local community in her voluntary work for not for profit services focusing on homelessness and family violence.

For her services to the Canberra community, Fanning was appointed Canberra Woman of the Year and ACT NAIDOC Person of the Year in 2014 before being awarded a Public Service Medal in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List for outstanding service to Indigenous Australians in 2015.

Recently, Fanning was nominated for ACT Australian of the Year along with Ricky Stuart and Alan Tongue and was also elected to the ACT Aboriginal Advisory Board working with the ACT Government.