Monaro Rewarded for Country Championship Success

Monaro have been rewarded for their 18-14 win over Newcastle to claim the Country Championships with ten players named in the NSW Country U23’s representative squad.

Having impressed under the coaching of Ash Barnes, the Monaro U23 side also defeated Western, Riverina and Illawarra South Coast on their way to the final.

NSW Country U23’s Representative Squad

1. Jamie Ghoulmieh (Lakes United)

2. Jedidiah Simbiken (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)

3. Ryley Thomas (West Belconnen Warriors)

4. Jacob Gagai (Lakes United)

5. William Tom

6. Kouri Apouri (Wyong)

7. Jack Hickson (Woden Valley Rams)

8. Roman Fepuleai (South Newcastle)

9. Kruz Tupou (Yass Magpies)

10. Mitch Shaw (West Belconnen Warriors)

11. Jake Lawrence (South Newcastle)

12. Tori Freeman (West Belconnen Warriors)

13. Josh Baker (Queanbeyan Blues)

14. Lincoln Smith (Maitland)

15. Brett Solomon (Tuggeranong Bushrangers)

16. Luke Higgins (South Newcastle)

17. Jarrod Smith (Maitland)

18. Sam Kennan (West Newcastle)

19. Clevland McGhie (Woden Valley Rams)

20. Jake Wheeler (Queanbeyan Blues)

Coach: Josh Cale