Season Preview: Queanbeyan Kangaroos

After falling at the final hurdle the past two seasons, the Queanbeyan Kangaroos will be looking to go one step further in 2018.

Where they excel

On paper, the Kangaroos have arguably the most complete roster in the competition.

Having been a force over the last few seasons, the Queanbeyan based side have strengthened all over the park and have the addition of former Canberra Raider Jeff Lima, who adds plenty of experience and quality to an already impressive pack.

The Kangaroos have a lethal combination of size and speed across the backline and with group of talented playmakers such as Brent Crisp, Josh Essex and Derek Hay, the Roos should pose a threat to most teams.

Room to improve

After strong performances over the last two years, the Kangaroos enter this season as favourites for the title.

Having lost the 2016 and 2017 grand finals by slim margins, the Kangaroos will need to improve their composure if they are to claim their fourth Austbrokers Canberra CRC title.

The Queanbeyan base side also have questions marks around who will play hooker due to Aaron Gorrell’s decision to stop playing and focus solely on coaching.

Coach’s comment

“We’ve got some fresh faces and a bit of experience to add to the squad as well. Jeff Lima’s presence and maturity has been great me for me. He provides a different voice and I think his leadership will help us a lot this year.

We’ve got a really good core bunch of guys who want to work hard and be successful and it filters down to the younger blokes.” – Aaron Gorrell

The rookie

“We’ve got Kaine Pagura and Lochie Ingram got a little taste last year. With myself not playing, Lochie will probably slot into the number nine jersey so I’m really excited to work with him and watch him become a genuine first grader.

Kaine has a fair bit of speed to burn and I think he is an exciting player to watch. I think the few games he played last year will put him in good stead for this year.” – Aaron Gorrell

Gains and Losses


Jeff Lima (Canberra Raiders)
Todd Williams (Cooma Stallions)
Derek Hay (Canberra Raiders NYC)
Josh Hitchings (Rugby Union)
Richard Kelly (Cooma Stallions)
Marcus Malaetasi (Tuggeranong Vikings)
Todd Ingram (Bega Roosters)


Jedidiah Simbiken (Redcliffe Dolphins)
Tevita Aroha-Tuinauvai (West Belconnen Warriors)
Aidan Woods (Queanbeyan Blues)
Aaron Gorrell (Retired from playing)