Season Preview: West Belconnen Warriors

A poor start to last season saw the West Belconnen Warriors miss out on finals football despite an impressive late run of form.

Where they excel

The 2016 Premiers were off the pace at the start of the year but proved that they were amongst the best sides in the competition as they beat the Blues and Kangaroos to finish off their season.

With the likes of Mitch Shaw, Ryley Thomas, Tevita Aroha-Tuinauvai and Ryan McQueen the West Belconnen Warriors have a core group of players who were influential in the Monaro’s Country Championship winning side.

Room to improve

As spoken about the Warriors started poorly in 2017 and will need to hit the ground running if they are to make a premiership challenge this year.

While the Warriors have a side littered with quality there are question marks over their spine with Bobby Roberts and Sam Finnegan not playing this year.

With no recognised playmakers joining the club during the offseason, the Warriors will be looking at the likes of Ryan McQueen and Harry Brown to lead the way, even if they are not in their preferred positions.

Coach’s comments

“The pre-season we’ve had this year is probably similar to the pre-season we had two years ago. Everyone is just working hard, there’s no winging or whining. Everyone is pushing each other, the young blokes are training hard, the old blokes are training hard.” – Troy Thompson

The Rookie

“Bailey and Dustin Litster, they’ve been training really well. They are coming through fantastically but I think Bailey is out for season with a shoulder injury. I’m looking to Dustin to take that position of Tori Freeman. He’s not as big a Tori but he plays well above his weight.” – Troy Thompson

Gains and Losses:


Tevita Aroha-Tuinauvai (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)


Bobby Roberts (Young Cherrypickers)

Aidan Greenwood (Belconnen United Sharks)

Craig Finnerty (Belconnen United Sharks)

Andrew McDonald (Belconnen United Sharks)

Nic Whatman (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs)

Tori Freeman-Quay (Newcastle Knights NSW Cup)

Connor Brebner (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs)

Sam Finnegan