Season Preview: Yass Magpies

Cameron Hardy takes over Yass for their centenary year, as the Magpies hope to return to finals football in 2019.

Boasting arguably one of the most powerful forward packs in the competition, the Magpies will be aiming to start the season strongly as the side look to settle in their new spine.

The Naughton brothers, Andrew Swaffield and Jacob Toppin have all left the club, while regular halfback Chris Rawlinson returns to Reserve Grade as player-coach.

Carl Johnson will start the season at halfback and will be looking to start the season strongly after spending last season with the Harden Hawks.

Key Player – Noa Vanisi

Noa Vanisi arrives at the club from the Tuggeranong Bushrangers and will take on a major role in a rejuvenated Yass forward pack.

The Monaro representative generally makes plenty of meters and has a handy habit of crossing the try line.

With McIntyre Medalist Tom Warner returning to Group 9, Vanisi will look to fill his shoes at the Magpies this season.

The rookie – Ben Davis

“Ben is a young bloke with a very mature head on his shoulders. He has been up in the top three trainers in a long pre-season. He is very committed to his football and strives for improvement, never has excuses but just wants to play good football.

His skill level is well advanced for his age and continues to improve at each session. Defensively Ben is very strong and aggressive and is certainly not out of place in an experienced forward pack.

I have no doubt Ben will push to become a regular first grader for Yass in 2019.

For me as the Coach, I find it an absolute pleasure to Coach a team of great players, but even better people, this Ben epitomizes.” – Cameron Hardy

Gains and Losses

Gains: Atu Tupou (Tuggeranong Bushrangers), Mitch Turner (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs), Carl Johnson (Harden Hawks), Phaebian Antonio (Tuggeranong Bushrangers), Jordan Mecham-Crane (Bungendore Tigers), Brendon Housden (Belconnen United Sharks),Noa Vanisi (Tuggeranong Bushrangers), David Faaeteete (Tuggeranong Bushrangers), Tom Warner (Bungendore Tigers), Bex Mauava (Tuggeranong Bushrangers)

Losses: Kyle Danilczak, Jacob McGrath, Scott Naughton, Steve Naughton, Andrew Swaffield, Jacob Toppin, Ben Warner, Tom Warner, Tom Webb